Wyatt Hardy, PLC

Criminal, Family and Probate Law

Wyatt Hardy, PLC

Criminal, Family and Probate Law


Protecting Clients’ Rights. Working To Solve Problems.

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Firm News
  4.  » 3 tips for avoiding a DWI in Arkansas

3 tips for avoiding a DWI in Arkansas

On Behalf of | Jan 5, 2017 | Firm News |

Drunk driving can have devastating consequences. Besides the risk of getting a DWI charge, you also run the risk of causing serious property damage and injuries if you drive while intoxicated. Avoiding a charge and other negative consequences can be accomplished if you stay away from common behavior that leads to drunk driving. Here are some tips to avoid a DWI and other consequences.

1. Do not drive if you’ve been drinkingThis may seem obvious, but it is the simplest way to avoid any problems. Do not drink any alcohol if you need to be driving afterwards, or confirm that there will be a designated driver. Ensure that the designated driver is completely sober, as many designated drivers end up drunk. Leave your car at your house if possible and get a ride to the party. You may be able to sleep over at the party location or get a nearby hotel.

If these options are not possible, call a sober friend or family member, take public transit, get a taxi or use a ridesharing application on your smartphone. There is always another option besides driving drunk or being driven by someone else who is drunk.

2. Start early and cut off alcohol early

If at all possible, begin consuming alcohol earlier and cut it off a few hours before you or anyone else needs to drive. If you do not have control over when the event begins or when alcohol is served, try to remain responsible and safe.

3. Stay under the legal limit

Be aware of all the DWI laws in Arkansas, including the blood alcohol limit of 0.08 percent for those 21 years of age and older. You may run the risk of being charged with a DWI even under the limit if you cause an accident. Keep in mind that people under 21 can be charged with a DWI if any amount of alcohol is detected in their system when they are driving (0.02 percent).

Taking precautions to prevent yourself and others from drunk driving is necessary to stop potentially life-changing mistakes from occurring. Even if no serious damage or injuries occur, a DWI charge can be inconvenient or financially devastating. When you are proactive about avoiding driving drunk and stay aware of your state laws, you can stay safe.

If you are facing a drunk driving charge, fighting it may be a possibility. Consult a criminal defense attorney for representation and guidance in counteracting a DWI charge brought against you.